Limerick Cricket Club

Founded 1968

Co. Limerick

Club History

Limerick Cricket Club is affiliated to the Munster Cricket Union (MCU) and the Irish Cricket Union. The MCU has teams ranging from far afield as Galway, Kerry, Clare, Cork, Tipperary and Waterford. The league format is split into 4 divisions with a total of 23 teams from 11 clubs.

Cricket has been played in the city since the early 1800s. Limerick Cricket Club in its current form was established in 1968.

The mid-seventies were not a good time for Limerick Cricket Club in terms of success.  The concentration was on survival and the struggle to establish a home ground to play on.  During this time it was often difficult to raise a side to travel and on some occasions, the Club travelled with 9, 10, and on occasion, 8 players to Cork to fulfil a fixture.  However, throughout the history of the Club, we have always fulfilled our fixtures, and have never cancelled a match because we could not travel.

The 80’s were a particularly successful decade for the Club.  For the first time in 1982, Limerick Cricket Club won the Munster Senior Cup.  In the Cup we were successful in 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988, and beaten finalists in 1980 and 1989.  We won the league in 1984, 1985 and 1988.

The lack of success in 1983 can no doubt to a large extent be attributed to the fact that the Club had no proper ground, with all competitive games having to be played away.  This is a sentiment echoed throughout the history of the Club, even when the Club was its most successful.

In 1990, the Club moved to the University of Limerick.  During the early 90’s the Club won the Munster Junior Cup twice and a memorable Munster Minor Cup and League double in 1992.  The Club fell on barren times during the mid to late 90's, with only a couple of Munster Senior Shields and a remarkable Munster Senior Cup win to show for its endeavours. In the 90s we won the Senior Cup in 1992 and 1994 and the Senior League in 1990 and 1992.

The early years of the millennium demonstrated promise with a Munster Minor Cup (2001) and Munster Senior Shields (2003; 2005) and Munster Senior League titles (2004; 2005).  This was also a very productive time for the Junior side, with the Munster Junior Leagues (2004; 2005), and a League and Munster Junior Cup double in 2005.  This period of success was remarkable as it was achieved despite a lack of resources, including a home venue.

Limerick Cricket Club has consistently had members in the Munster representative cricket team, particularly during the 80’s when it made up the bulk of the team.

Today Limerick Cricket Club has 91 paid members ranging in age from 8 to 70.  While there is a strong presents of Irish nationals, the membership is quite cosmopolitan and the Club boasts members from 9 different nationalities. Limerick Cricket Club is committed to the development of cricket within the Limerick region, and especially to the development of underage cricket. Each weekend this season, Limerick Cricket Club members directed up to 40 kids under the age of 18 in cricket training.  

In addition to wanting to thrive as a competitive club within the open age divisions of the Munster Cricket Union, the Club also has a focus on social aspects.  This is despite the fact that we have no Clubhouse to help foster this environment.  This has manifested primarily through Club tours, Club friendlies within Ireland and Club trips.  Within the last couple of years, Club tours have included Geneva in Switzerland, Cannes in France, Lanzarote, Malta and a stag weekend in Dingle!

May 25th 2012 will go down as an historic day for Limerick Cricket Club. On this day the Club put in place its first dressing room/Clubhouse in its new home in Adare. A mat wicket was laid in the summer of 2010 and the the Club played its first match on a ground they can call their own on the 17th of July 2011. These are very exciting times for our Club. Success has returned on the field too. The club acheived a Minor League and Cup double in 2011 and successfully defended their league trophy the following season. The team went on to win the Junior League in 2015 and thus promotion to the Premier League once again. We now field teams in all four league and cup competitions in the Munster Cricket Union. In 2016 we competed in the National Cup. We became the first Munster side to reach an All-Ireland Final when we reached the National Cup Final in 2018. The future certainly is bright!

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play